Contact Us

Please fill out the form below and our attorney will contact you.

!
!
!

Our Office

  • Fort Lauderdale Office

    Address

    101 N.E. Third Avenue
    Ground Suite 110
    Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33301

Martindale Awards

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

4.9/5.0

Average Client Rating

75% client recommended

Reviews (35)

Site Rating Reviews by date
5.0 / 5.0
2021-05-30

Simply put, Richard Merlino is the absolute BEST! I cannot thank Mr. Merlino and his team for all the time and effort they put into my case. I never needed legal counsel before and had no idea what to do or who to call. I was referred to him by a dear and trustworthy friend. Mr. Merlino met with me and explained what the process would involve. He also met with me several times over the course of my case. He answered any and all questions I had and put my mind at ease during the extremely stressful situation. Mr. Merlino is a straight shooter and will be honest with you about what you can and cannot expect, which is what you need from an attorney. Mr. Merlino is an extremely knowledgeable and well-respected attorney. The judge even made mention of how well-respected he is amongst his peers during my hearing. Barbara, his paralegal, is AMAZING. I will forever be grateful for what they did for me. I highly recommend Mr. Merlino as you will be in the best of hands.

— Client 05/30/2021

5.0 / 5.0
2021-05-30

Simply put, Richard Merlino is the absolute BEST! I cannot thank Mr. Merlino and his team for all the time and effort they put into my case. I never needed legal counsel before and had no idea what to do or who to call. I was referred to him by a dear and trustworthy friend. Mr. Merlino met with me and explained what the process would involve. He also met with me several times over the course of my case. He answered any and all questions I had and put my mind at ease during the extremely stressful situation. Mr. Merlino is a straight shooter and will be honest with you about what you can and cannot expect, which is what you need from an attorney. Mr. Merlino is an extremely knowledgeable and well-respected attorney. The judge even made mention of how well-respected he is amongst his peers during the hearing. Barbara, his paralegal, is AMAZING. I will forever be grateful for what they did for me. I highly recommend Mr. Merlino as you will be in the best of hands.

— Client 05/30/2021

5.0 / 5.0
2020-10-14

Richard was the hope to my family when my options felt limited , he was there with a caring heart and not once hesitated to guide me through any Questions or concerns. If it wasn’t for Mr. Merlino I would not be a free man today. I am Forever grateful to him. His assistant Barbara was also the most hard working , caring and dedicated human being anyone can ever come across. If god forbid ever needed I would recommend the law office of Richard Merlino over and over again. Thank you Rich and Barbara. Our family is forever grateful

— Client 10/14/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-09-25

I want to thank Richard and his staff for a job well done. I dont know where my son would have been today if it wasn't for Richard. All the calls, the messages and the emails, he gave us his all. Richard fought for my son Dandre he never gave up on him he crossed every T's and dot every I's. He fought a good fight and the battle was won. Richard is a peoples lawyer. Barbara was on top of everything she overlooked nothing as soon as she saw a change on something she make her calls and his investigator Rob he was amazing he did everything he could have done for the case. They sit my son down and they talk to him as he was their own. My son now has become the man that you and I knew he was and D'Andre and i thank all of you from the bottom of our heart for the kindness you have shown us. Thank you for the hard work and dedication. it gives me great pleasure of recommending your firm to each and everyone who may need your services. Thank you all again.

— Client 09/25/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-08-14 04:38:03

No description provided

— Peer 08/14/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-02

I never thought I would be in the position to need to hire an attorney. Mr. Merlino's name was given to me by a friend that used him before. I was able to meet with him right away, explain the situation and go over the allegations and facts. Richard immediately put my mind at ease and made me feel like I would be okay. He is very knowledgeable, has so much experience in dealing with legal issues and problems. We were able to formulate a strategy and game plan and we got out ahead of the problem. Mr. Merlino is compassionate and caring and so is his office staff. I hope I never need his assistance again, but I will refer everyone I can to his office. He is the best!

— Client 06/02/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-09

I hire Richard Merlino for a big case of mine and he is the man. Lets just say this is not the first time I been arrested. But this was the biggest case I caught. Richard was great and his two best traits were he always communicated with me great and got me a really good result. Better than I could have ever asked for. If you are looking for an amazing lawyer, this is your guy.

— Client 04/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-28 13:30:17

No description provided

— Peer 01/28/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2019-12-06

After being arrested in lovely Broward Cty, I researched on the internet and spoke to my friends and had narrowed down my hiring to two lawyers one being Richard Merlino. From the moment I contacted his office, the receptionist answering the phone immediately made me feel calm and so much less anxious and she then transferred me to Mr. Merlino's assistant/paralegal Barbara, who was so knowledgeable, non judgmental and set my appt. up w/ Mr. Merlino for 1st available time slot. Again, from the moment I walked into his office lobby, which was beautiful and so elegant, I felt like I was treated like a human being and a special one at that. Then I spent about hour and half talking to Mr. Merlino, who I realized after ten min. I was hiring him and I can't tell you how this entire office made such a horrible experience be even somewhat pleasant and certainly ended up giving me the most from what I hear, unreal sentence or finalizing of my case! Great lawyer, great staff, look no further.

— Client 12/06/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-04-10 09:19:03

No description provided

— Peer 04/10/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-04-10 08:06:06

Ive worked with Rich from both a criminal defense standpoint and a criminal prosecution standpoint. He is very knowledgeable in the field and really sees the forest through the trees!

— Peer 04/10/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-03-22

My family hired Mr. Merlino to represent me on a criminal (federal) matter. He was able to work with the prosecutor and get me a plea offer that was better than I would ever have expected. Mr. Merlino and his staff were both very helpful and patient throughout this very stressful process. Upon meeting with him you can tell immediately that he is kind, compassionate and caring as well as an excellent and experienced attorney! He EXCELS BEYOND expectations. I would recommend Mr. Merlino to anyone needing legal help.

— Client 03/22/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-03-18

This lawyer exercise the most tolerance and patience with my family when we are in serious trouble. He came highly recommended and turned out to be far more than expected.

— Client 03/18/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-01-11

I hired him for a friend and from the beginning to the end him and his staff made sure everything went smooth and everyone of my questions was answered and they kept me up on what was going on with the case !!!

— Client 01/11/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2018-10-18 05:43:50

I’ve know Richard since my time as a prosecutor over 10 years ago. He’s a well connected and very talented attorney. You can trust his ability as an attorney.

— Peer 10/18/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-10-08 07:53:49

No description provided

— Peer 10/08/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-10-04 17:13:13

No description provided

— Peer 10/04/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-10-04 10:50:32

I have known Rich for many years, and have many shared cleints with him, both who he has referred to me, and whom I have referred to him. I have always found Rich to be knowledgeable, efficent and effective, and he has always obtained good results for my cleints. His cleints (referred to me) have also spoken highly of him. I think he is highly ethical, and an excellent attorney.

— Peer 10/04/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-10-04 08:49:31

Ethical, qualified, thorough and conscientiuos.

— Peer 10/04/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-04-24

I got into some trouble 10 years ago down in Dade & Broward counties. I currently reside in New Jersey and wasn't sure who I should of hired to handle these matters. I spoke with a few attorneys but none were as impressive as Rich, so I hired him as my council. I had a very confusing & difficult case where I used a false name and was also charged with a felony and also had a DUI in Dade, these case's would of been an absolute head ache for most attorneys but Rich and his paralegal team worked their butts off to make sure I had the best outcome, they were very communicative throughout the entire 9 month process which is huge for me, even though I had to turn myself into jail and spend a couple days in, they spoke to me and my family everyday I was in there and made sure they got me out as quickly as possible. While in court Rich was extremely impressive and made everyone else ask "whose your attorney"? and "how much was your attorney"? He turned heads with his impressive knowledge of the law and I would not recommend anyone other then Richard Merlino for their cases in Florida, HE WAS WORTH EVERY PENNY. My DUI case was dismissed and I got 6 months on probation for my felony which will not stay on my record once I am done. I could not have asked for a better outcome and I thank everyone in his office especially his paralegal Barbara Parman, such great people and I am thrilled with my experience. HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND

— Client 04/24/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-03-29

Mr. Merlino was with me since the time I hired him through helping me to early terminate my probation. I really liked that when I called, even though his paralegal Barb is also excellent, I always got to speak directly to my lawyer which made me feel so much better. He is a great guy, its obvious he really cares. Soft on eyes too!

— Client 03/29/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2015-12-27 08:30:05

No description provided

— Peer 12/27/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2014-05-08

My husband had two drug cases, one in Miami and one in West Palm Beach. Mr. Merlino has been a life saver and changer for my husband and our family. Not only did he save my husband from serving Jail time, but he guided him in the right direction to turn his life around. Mr. Merlino has proven to be not only a great attorney, but a caring person outside the courtroom. Mr. Merlino has the confidence and strength that one needs in desperate times inside the courtroom, and out. I would recommend Mr. Merlino to anyone who is in need of a strong defense and some well deserved guidance in living on the right path.

— Client 05/08/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-05-08

Some would say I have a colorful past. Several attorneys I met with prior to Mr. Merlino weren't very optimistic. Mr. Merlino made me feel like I had a fighting chance. He took my case and got me the best possible outcome. I was looking at serious jail time and ended up with probation. I owe Mr. Merlino my life and am forever in his debt. I will never hire any other attorney... only Richard Merlino! He IS THE BEST.

— Client 05/08/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2013-02-22

I was charged with Manslaugher...stemming from a bar fight.. I am not proud of that time in my life, but I am greatful that I had the best lawyer, Richard Merlino. He fought for me and for my life. I was acquitted of the charges. Saying those words today, still amaze me. He is the best, if you are looking for a top notch attorney, look no further.

— Client 02/22/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-01-18

Mr. Merlino is the best of the best! I will never hire another attorney. He saved my life!

— Client 01/18/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2012-12-27

Mr. Merlino Represented me on a criminal traffic case that could have violated my 2nd degree probation, facing 20 years. How he managed to get this taken care of without my probation or judge finding out is still a mystery. I put my life in this mans hands and he delivered extremely quickly and went above and beyond. I highly reccommend this man to anyone who has a problem that needs to be taken care of!! Not only that he returns calls promptly and will throuroughly explain everything that is happenning.

— Client 12/27/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-07-28

I was referred to Mr. Merlino from a good friend. As soon as he got on my case he got to work immediately and started discussing strategy to win my case. After a few months my case was over and I was a free man. I owe everything to Mr. Merlino and now I can be the family man I wanted to be and show my kids the right way. If you need a GREAT lawyer this is the one to go to!

— Client 07/28/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-07-27

Richard Merlino is a life-saver. He went above and beyond on my case and I owe my freedom to him, he truly saved my life. He is professional, kind, understanding, and a truly AMAZING lawyer. I hope I will never need a lawyer again, but if I do, there is no question... Mr. Merlino is the man for the job.

— Client 07/27/2012

4.8 / 5.0
2018-10-04 09:16:15

No description provided

— Peer 10/04/2018

4.4 / 5.0
2018-11-01 04:03:41

No description provided

— Peer 11/01/2018

1.0 / 5.0
2020-03-18

Be sure and read the fine print on the retainer. I didn't and lost $10,000 for 1 days representation. Retainer suggests by the hour but goes on to say 'considered earned when paid' which in legal jargon for no refunds. In my situation I hired him but found a lawyer local (Texas) 1 day after paying retainer. He did nothing. Legal: yes immoral: absolutely. Then led me to believe he was returning my money only to open a copy of his engagement letter and a check for $800. In hindsight I'm glad I found out early what type of man I hired.

— Client 03/18/2020

1.0 / 5.0
2020-03-17

I retained on an investigation for 1 day and thought it was by the hour. It wasn’t. His retainer contract stipulates “earned when paid’. 24 hrs after I signed and paid a large retainer I decided to use a local attorney instead. He kept all but $800 of a $10,800 I paid. I’m disappointed in myself for being so gullible and Merlino for his pure greed. I would not use or recommend him under any circumstances.

— Client 03/17/2020

1.0 / 5.0
2018-09-29

My family hired Merlino and it was the worst mistake of our lives. I was charged with Possession of Cocaine in Broward County in 2016, but the State didn't have an FDLE result so the case would have been dismissed if he set it for trial. Instead he kept lying to my family and taking more and more money and threatening to sue them if they didn't pay these added fees. It was a nightmare. Luckily the judge allowed me to fire him at a docket sounding and the lawyer from the public defenders' office got my case dismissed. Beware of him.

— Client 09/29/2018

1.0 / 5.0
2018-03-10

Do not hire this man. I hired him for my sister's grand theft case. He met with us once and took a down payment. Then he stopped answering any calls. The state wanted to offer her pretrial diversion but because he never showed up to court to sign the contract they withdrew the offer and she ended up having to take probation. He is a crook. Stay far away.

— Client 03/10/2018